EEA (European Economic Area)

What does EEA mean?

Established in 1994 with the aim of extending EU regulations on the internal market to the countries of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), the European Economic Area (EEA) is a deepened free trade zone. Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein belong to the EEA. As soon as the EWR states agreed to their assumption, the European Union internal market regulations become part of the legislation of the EWR countries. Their conversion and penetration are supervised thereupon by special EFTA committees and a joint parliamentary committee.

Back to the overview

EEA (European Economic Area)

More questions?

Choose your country

Follow us on: