Common Transit

What is Common Transit?

A common transit is a customs procedure for the movement of goods between the European Union (EU) and the EFTA countries. The EFTA countries comprise of Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland. Turkey joined on the 1st of December 2012, the Republic of North Macedonia became a member from 1st of July 2015 and Serbia joined on the 1st of February 2016.

The common transit allows:

  • goods to move quicker because customs declarations are not required at each border crossing
  • payment of customs duties when the goods reach their final destination
  • the completion of some customs procedures away from the border

Back to the overview

Common Transit

More questions?

Choose your country

Follow us on: